This was a long time coming, but only now have I had a chance to work on this entry.

~~~~

Christmas has come and gone.  The days leading up to December 25th are full of eagerness and great expectations.  It’s a time of cheer and joy, surrounded by our loved ones, celebrating the fulfillment of the promise of our Saviour.

Perhaps it’s in our youth when this time is the most magical.  By that, I mean that things kinda just happened.  As children, do we ever stop to think what our parents go through behind the scenes to make Christmas a special time in our lives?  I know I didn’t.  Whether it was Mom working in the kitchen, or Dad putting up the decorations, they worked hard so we could have precious memories etched in our hearts.

When we become adults, we gain a greater appreciation for the things our parents did so we could have fond memories.  But that magic is not gone.  It passes onto us, and it becomes our turn to make Christmas a great time for our own.

~~~~

What is your favorite Christmas memory?  Mine is not a particular Christmas’s Eve, but in my childhood we used to have Christmas dinner at my grandparents’ (both paternal and maternal).  My dad has five brothers and sisters; my mom has three siblings.  So, of course, their homes were jam-packed with uncles, aunts, cousins, and complete strangers that were somehow related to us.

But it was when we moved to Texas that we no longer had the crowds.  It was just the four of us.  Christmas become a rather small celebration, sometimes bittersweet because we recalled those days gone by and missed our family so dearly.  Within the last 10 years, I’d say my favorite Christmas memory is the year when our relatives finally visited us.  We had the crowd at our home.  It was just like old times, and I loved every minute of it.

Since, then, they have come every other year, but that first time was a wonderful time for all of us, and it made that Christmas extra special.

~My Two Cents

