Summer is here, and it was clearly felt last Sunday in our bus ministry.  God bless the Gold Lions with 22 riders that day.  I’m thankful for these 22.  They are the faithful ones, or at the very least the ones that didn’t have other plans so they chose to ride our bus.  God will bless them for it.

I more or less could tell how our results would turn out based on Saturday visitation.  I visited the whole route by myself (and don’t get me started on that), and a lot of the kids weren’t home.  Those that were home were dying to go swimming.  For our promotion, we had double pop-sickles.  I’ve learned in the past that you don’t buy pop-sickles until the last minute or you’ll have a mess in your hands… literally.  The kids enjoyed them.

One of the things I’ve always wanted to do was to have a cooler with water and paper cups on the bus during the summer.  It gets unbearably hot, and I don’t want the kids to faint (or complain that they are going to faint).  I have to look into that before next Sunday.

As you may know, I have been the captain for the last 5 months.  To this day, I’m still having kids asking me where my predecessor is or if he’s coming back anytime soon.  I’m a little conflicted.  On the one hand, I am a little hurt because after all this time I have not been able to win over these kids (one girl made it a point to let me know that she hasn’t been riding because the former bus captain is gone).  On the other hand, I too wish he was back, especially because it’s tough being a bus captain!  And expensive!  But I have the opportunity of a lifetime to make a difference in these kids’ lives, so I’m not about to get upset because some of them don’t want me to be captain.

God works in great ways, and here’s why: our church is going through a similar situation but in a grander scale.  When Dr. Bob Smith announced his retirement, I was crushed.  It’s not that I don’t like Dr. Todd Lasseter, but after all these years you get used to “Preacher,” and you know things are never going to be the same… but I am realizing now that that’s not a bad thing.  It’s just a different experience.  Later on, when I became captain of the Gold Lions, it hit me: I have a unique insight on what the kids are going to go through.  They are feeling what I was feeling.  Some are going to be mad.  Others will be sad.  Others simply won’t care.  Things are going to change, but they need to know that I love them and that God loves them.  It may take a while for them to get used to me, but we’ll get there.

I hope this was a blessing to you.  Please feel free to comment in the section below and share this with your friends!

~My Two Cents

