This’ll be a short one, mainly because other people have done the work for me (laziness ftw!).  I really didn’t feel like going deep into a discussion about racism issues in film-making, which movies like The Last Airbender or Prince of Persia have ignited rather stupidly.  Fact of the matter is, there is nothing I can say or do that is going to affect casting decisions or stuff like that.  What I CAN do is raise awareness about the issue, whether you like it or not.  Now, if you really want to read a well-documented blog post, I suggest you check this one out:

http://splinterend.tumblr.com/post/749364670/facepainting

Characters from Avatar: The Last Airbender, animated and live-action.

To quickly bring you up to speed on the issue: see those kids to the left?  They are supposed to be Asian, not white.

That said, what prompted me to write this is not that there is racism in movie casting (I know, SHOCKING!), but that we’re so quick to bash the aforementioned movies while this is going on:

http://movies.yahoo.com/feature/movie-talk-twitter-campaign-wants-community-actor-to-be-first-non-white-spider-man.html

Thousands wanted Donald Glover to play Spidey

Here’s the gist: early this month, some know-it-all io9.com guy (the site comes from the same family of morons that run Kotaku) said, and I quote, “In this day and age, why does Spidey have to be a white guy?”  What’s even more amazing is that thousands of people took to the streets, er… the Internet (because “in this day and age”, who takes to the streets when you can complain to the Interwebs?) and began this Twitter campaign to have this man, Donald Glover, play Spider-man in an upcoming movie reboot (don’t even get me started on that).

Donald Glover currently stars in NBC’s Community.  With no offense to Mr. Glover or his acting merits, I firmly believe Peter Parker should be portrayed by a white man because he is white in the comics (this is coming from a Hispanic man, keep in mind).  That sounds reasonable enough, right?  The author of the first blog post I linked here would probably agree with me.  So, let’s just pretend for a second that the new Spider-man movie had cast Mr. Glover.  Would we have gotten the same reaction as we did with The Last Airbender or Prince of Persia?

Double standards.  I know,

SHOCKER!!!

Shocker, enemy of Spider-man as well as double standards in Hollywood.

Here is a funny coincidence: as I was doing my research for this article, I found out that Sony finally casted Peter Parker for the reboot just yesterday.  Thankfully, it wasn’t Donald Glover.  It’s this guy:

Andrew Garfield casted as the new Peter Parker

Leave your comments in the section below and share with your friends!

~My Two Cents

