AKA Why I am a member of Trinity Baptist Church, Arlington, TX

First of all, I’d like to apologize for the lack of updates these past two weeks.  I can’t speak for Tim or Phong, but I know I’ve been kinda lazy, followed by extreme moments of busyness, and so I haven’t been able to just sit down and type. Believe me, I have several pre-typed articles that just need to be fine-tuned before they go live. For now, enjoy this late ministry update.

The Lord blessed our bus on the 19th with 23 riders.  On the 26th, we had 34 riders.  Our workers (not so much me) were shooting for at least 47.  You see, we made a little deal that if we hit 47, the bus captain (aka me) would have to shave his eyebrows.  To further sweeten the deal, if we somehow managed to hit 50, I would shave my whole head.  Needless to say, I still comb my hair in the mornings.

Luckily, our church campaign is starting this coming Sunday, so I don’t see the need to rely on this “promotion” to increase our attendance (this is something commonly done by captains who have nothing to lose. And I have a girlfriend visiting in two weeks, so you can probably see why I am glad, just this once, that we didn’t hit our goal).  Our bus driver, Ben Stover, has promised our kids some awesome prizes if we manage to hit our weekly goals.  Our attendance has suffered lately because our kids keep disappearing without a trace, so we hope that we can reach some new riders in the upcoming weeks.

As we made our way to the first stop last week, I noticed on my Twitter feed that a couple of friends of mine decided to change their membership to another church in the area.  I am not going to divulge the specifics because they are irrelevant to the point I want to make.  In 2003, I began to ride the then-Yellow bus (which is now the Silver Spurs, led by my fellow brother-in-Christ Terry Hill, who also drove for us in those days).  Brother Cliff Donnelly was my bus captain.  He befriended and visited me almost every Saturday.  He always picked me up on Sundays.  He always had a smile on his face.  He always shared something he had learned in the Bible.  He never failed to encourage me to serve Christ.  It is because of him that I am still in church to this day.

Brother Cliff Donnelly and I, at my graduation from Bible College

As you may imagine, the bus ministry is very dear to my heart.  It was through it that I was reached.  As you may also know, I am employed by a missions organization known as Global Church Planters, which is now a ministry of another church, which does not currently have a bus ministry (this is not a knock against it. We support several foreign church plants that don’t get bus/van ministries off the ground until years down the road).  I get asked quite often if I’m ever going to switch my membership.

And the answer is… no.  I could never pry myself away from the bus ministry unless it was God’s direction, and I hope I can hold to this statement in the future (that means throw this article in my face if I ever do).  I could never turn my back on my bus kids.  I couldn’t live with myself if I was to abandon my workers and those kids that look forward to seeing me every week (and even those that don’t).  This bus  needs a captain, and that captain is me.  So I shared this little pep talk with Grace and Steve, and now I am sharing it with you.  So God help me, unless He directs me somewhere else, I am staying at Trinity Baptist Church, and I’m staying with the Gold Lions Bus.

Please don’t forget to leave your comments and share with your friends.

~My Two Cents

