Notable Mentions

As I found out writing this article, there are boatloads of Christmas songs out there.  While I can call the above list my favorite Christmas songs, there are several worthy mentions, which, though good, did not impact me as much.  Most of them are the ones considered “classics”, such as “Angels We Have Heard on High”, “Christmas Canon” (which I have a hard time associating with Christmas, seeing how it’s actually “Canon in D”, a wedding procession), “It Came Upon a Midnight Clear”, “Go Tell It on a Mountain”, “O Come All Ye Faithful”, “Little Drummer Boy”, “Hark! the Herald Angels Sing”, “Silent Night”, “Away in a Manger”, “We Wish You a Merry Christmas”, “Let it Snow”, “Ding Dong Merrily on High”, “Jingle Bells”, “Jingle Bell Rock”, “The Christmas Song” (what the heck does “nipping at your nose” even mean?), “Joy to the World”, “White Christmas”, “winder Wonderland”, “Blue Christmas”, “It’s the Most Wonderful Time of the Year”, and “It’s Beginning to Look Like Christmas.”

Then there is the more modern songs that I didn’t feel like adding to this list.  It’s just too much!

Through this research, I found out about the performers most often associated with Christmas music.  There’s the oldies-but-goldies, such as Nat King Cole, Dean Martin, Bing Crosby, the Carpenters; and there’s the new talent, such as Carrie Underwood, Kelly Clarkson, Amy Grant, and other Christian singers.

And then there’s Celtic Woman.  Seriously, do yourself a favor and watch their videos of their Christmas concert at the Helix Center in Dublin (where Chloe Agnew always seems to steal the show for me).  They made for me some of the “classic” Christmas songs enjoyable.

Wow. I’m beat.  Merry Christmas and stuff!

